Five fictional women I would love to be

Ayla, The Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean M. Auel:

At the dawn of civilization — over 35,000 years ago — it is possible that Cro-Magnon and Neanderthal man lived at the same time. This theory totally fascinates me. Did they live together? Are we descendants from Neanderthals as well? (Of course, there are several different theories out there on this subject but that is a subject for another time.) Ayla is “adopted” by the People of the Clan after an earthquake leaves her an orphan. Ayla is different, she doesn’t fit in, she’s odd, and some in the Clan find her a threat.  But despite her hardships, Ayla makes friends and she also finds love and acceptance from her adoptive parents. And through all her trials and tribulations Ayla stays true to herself, to her curiosity, to her independence, and to her intelligence. She is a true hero – at the dawn of civilization. And the book is such a saga, it’s epic; not only about Ayla, but about the  People of the Clan – their ways, how they lived, hunted, gathered, worshiped. The scope of research done by Jean M. Auel is staggering .

Claire Beauchamp Randall Fraser, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon:

A nurse in WWII (later becomes a doctor) who suddenly and crazily finds herself in the Scottish Highlands in the year 1743. In the twentieth century she is married to Frank Randall. In the eighteenth century she falls in love and marries Jaime Fraser. Claire is a time traveler. She is in an unfamiliar world filled with danger, intrigue, war, and a love for Jaime Fraser. She becomes pregnant by Jaime in the eighteenth century but gives birth to the baby in the twentieth century. She is outspoken, pragmatic, unyielding in her medical practice, and torn between two very different men in two very different centuries. The book is historical fiction filled with lots of history, war, violence, sex, trust, distrust & betrayal. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.

Tess in Big Driver, of Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King:

Big Driver is a novella in Stephen King’s Full Dark, No Stars. All four stories in the book have a theme of a “monster within”. And I’m pretty sure some will find it absolutely bizarre that this character is on my list. That anyone in this book is on my list as a matter of fact.  Big driver is classic Stephen King. Tess is a successful mystery writer, avoiding the intersection and taking a short cut home from a speaking engagement when she gets a flat tire on the abandon road. Big driver comes along to help her, but soon enough Tess realizes things are not what they seem. Tess is brutally raped and left for dead. Tess escapes and makes it home but instead of calling for help or calling  the police she decides she will enact her own punishment and, in turn, vengeance against Big Driver.  Seriously, who hasn’t visualized acts of murder against those they absolutely despise? Is it just me? Because I’ve visualized, in detail, step-by-step enactments of how I would kill someone. Doesn’t everyone have these visualizations, or no? Anyways, Tess does what so many have dreamed of doing to their enemies, those they’ve been wronged by, or hurt by, and it’s all done in classic Stephen King style.

Bridget Jones, Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding:

She is just so dang funny. Who wouldn’t want to be Bridget Jones? Her antics and shenanigans are truly laugh out loud. It’s been years since I read this book, or the sequel The Edge of Reason, but I do believe it may be time for a re-read. I could sure use the laughs. Bridget is silly and funny, she loses weight, she gains weight, she’s constantly quitting smoking and always attempting some self  improvement. And it’s always in perfectly hilarious Bridget fashion! Seriously, who wouldn’t want to be Bridget? She lives life to the fullest, makes the most of her situation(s), doesn’t take herself seriously, and is always true to herself.

Claire, The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger:

Picking my fifth one was very hard. I originally was going to put Lyra, from The Golden Compass down (what can I say? She speaks to the child in me who was always looking for an adventure.) Perhaps in another post. But instead I’ve gone with another Clare. Clare from the Time Traveler’s Wife. Clare who is the subtle hero. The patient, understanding, loyal, loving with no conditions, wife of a time traveler. She is the one who gets left behind every time Henry (her time traveler husband) goes off time traveling. She patiently endures and never even considers leaving. Ever. Her silent resilience speaks to me, for I want to be more like her, because I could not endure being left behind all the time. And even though I would prefer being the time traveler myself, there is just something so romantic about Clare’s and Henry’s love. It knows no boundaries in time or space.

Absolutely not limited to this list, because there are so many wonderful, lovely, and strong, female characters out there. And I’m always open to bringing more into my world, so tell me who you would love to be….

 

4 Comments »

  1. What?? I commented on this yesterday and it apparently didn’t show up…

    Anyway… Love this. I think about this kind of stuff frequently. I love Clare from TTTW! She is wonderful. I’m also a huge fan of Bridget (and Lyra!) As you may have surmised, I would want to be Elizabeth Bennet from Pride & Prejudice 🙂 As for movie characters, I’ve always wanted to be Evie from the Mummy movies – adventure! Egypt! Intelligent heroine!

    As an aside, I think I need to read the Outlander books. I’ve heard great things about it, and now you’ve recommended it as well…

  2. Alex, I would want to be any of Jane Austen’s heroines! Elizabeth Bennet is on he top of the list. Actually I would simply love to be any English heroine back in the 18th or 19th century. And don’t even get me started on movie characters! Evie is DEFINITELY on the list. Kill Bill’s, The bride (Uma’s character) is also on my list. I wouldn’t mind being Laura Croft either. Seriously, this list can go on and on….. A post for another day, I think!

    The Outlander books are huge. (I believe it’s on number 7 or 8 of the series.) I think you would enjoy it, They have a little bit of everything in them.

  3. Uh hello, Galadriel from the Lord of the Rings. She is an elf (beautiful and ethereal) AND bad ass (reads minds and can kill you with her thoughts) at the same time. Tahira, love reading your updates, keep them up and be well!

    • LOVE Galadriel!! She IS a bad-ass! Would be her in a minute! I would also be Arwen – she’s pretty damn cool as well. And Aragon is her man (who wouldn’t want to be her!) Thanks, girlfriend. For following. I’m enjoying posting. Take care. Xo

Leave a Reply

