FAQ’s Part 2

 

Are you lonely? Scared? Are you afraid to travel alone? 

I rolled these three questions into one because they all go together in my view. Am I lonely? No. I’ve mentioned before that I’m an introvert with extrovert qualities (or is it that I am an extrovert with introvert qualities? I can’t decide) but either way my very own company has always been enough for me. It is absolutely where I developed the skills and qualities for the other parts of this question.  I enjoy traveling solo. I enjoy my solitude on the road. The challenge of finding one’s way, learning new cultures & customs, and meeting & integrating with new people. All of that brings out the best in me, I thrive on it. I am most at home when I am not at home. There are definitely times when I do miss a certain setting, or a certain someone, or a certain place. And don’t get me wrong, I do not mind traveling with others, I love it as a matter of fact, it’s just through the years I have learned the type of person I can travel with and the type of person I can not travel with. But when all is said and done, for the most part, I rarely get lonely. As far as being scared? Well, fear is not all that bad. Fear goes hand-in-hand with faith. I take a leap of faith everytime I set out to conquer a new fear. Fear sometimes is a good thing to have. Fear keeps me on my toes, and it gives me perspective.  If I didn’t fear something, how would I know I conquered it? There is nothing like the feeling of overcoming one’s fear. What is a challenge if not a fear? Yes, arriving into an unfamiliar airport in a foreign land is cause for fear, but the feeling of taking a deep breath, squaring one’s shoulders, and setting out on a new adventure, opening the door to new cultures & customs, and opening the door to new people into one’s life, is the indescribable sweet feeling of conquering fear and taking a leap of faith in myself. There is nowhere else I would rather be. 

Is it OK to be taking all the pictures you are taking? 

Me & my camera. I have my Fugi point & click with me, but I’ve decide to upgrade. It’s time. It’ll be my first big purchase here. Will update when I get it. In the meantime, as long as I stay away from governmental & official places, and official people, I will be OK. I would say 99% of the people I photograph ask to be in a picture. Most of them invite me over when they see the camera as a matter of fact. It’s my sweet disposition and magnetism, I’m sure. 

Where are you most looking forward to visiting? 

Ay dios mio, this is a tough one. I have many on my bucket list. Not limited to the following list: In Africa I am looking forward to Tunis, because it reminds me of The English Patient? In Europe Italy’s Almafi Coast is on my mind, because it reminds me of James Bond?  In Asia multiple places, from Thailand to Malaysia to Sri Lanka. In the Middle East I am looking forward to Jordon and the Dead Sea. And right here in my own back yard, I can not wait to get to Abu Dhabi and to Dubai (who, by the way, is hosting a marathon in January 2013.) And right here in Saudi Arabia, Jedda and Dammam, maybe even a trip to the holy cities of Mecca and Medinah – they would let me in, after all.  Will keep you updated, and promise to keep you posted on my whereabouts. 

How are the Embassy parties?

Interesting, to say the least. There are absolutely no camera’s or any electronics whatsoever, including phones, allowed inside any of the Embassies.  And not for security purposes alone. What happens at the Embassy, stays at the Embassy.

How do you cope with all the restrictions and all the things forbidden?

I am not coping. I make the best of it. It’s all about perspective, it’s what one decides to make of one’s situation. Wonderful Ted talk on perspective (check out my Ted Talks page on top too.) And so far I am having the best time I’ve had in a long time. I am truly happy. 

2 Comments »

  1. I like your travel philosophy immensely, Tahira 🙂 It is very much in line with mine – I enjoy traveling on my own and I also know which types of people I can and cannot travel with. And haha I love that part of the draw for some locations are their movie associations 🙂

Leave a Reply

