Thailand Series (Post 3) ~ My Hike to Big Buddha Phuket

 

This is a photo essay of my hike to visit the 45 meter high statue that sits on top of a hilltop 400m above sea level on Phuket island. It’s located in the forest of Nakkerd Hills between Chalong and Kata.  Chalong Bay lay in one direction while the other side looks down over Kata and the Andaman Sea.

Most folks take the open-air taxi’s up the hill.

I had this bright idea to hike up the hill at the crack of dawn.

How hard could it be, it was just a hill, after all.

This is part of an ongoing series of posts of my trip to Thailand. Click here for the other posts.

15 Comments »

    • Thanks for coming along! I don’t think too many folks actually hike up, I had met some backpackers who suggested it to me, but for the most part most folks drove or got a ride to the site. If I had not done it at the crack of dawn it would of been WAY too hot later in the day, maybe that is why not too many hike it.

Leave a Reply

