Status Post (almost) Six Months

I know, right? Has six months really (almost) gone by since I arrived into The Kingdom?

I’ve been really busy since coming back from Thailand and since the slow-paced month of Ramadan has ended. I know I haven’t been as prolific with my blog posts in recent weeks, so thought I would give a quick update here.  I am back to a regular working schedule and I’ve also been taking quite a few classes the hospital offers – Some of it review and other classes very new stuff (heart transplant and Arabic speaking lessons, for example.)  I’ve also been busy, ahem, doing *stuff* in the Arabian desert.

Jumping at the edge of the world

I’ve also been busy exploring and getting to know Riyadh better.

I was introduced to “Bahta” which was described to me as the “ghetto of Riyadh”

Entrance to Bahta
The recycling bin. The roof-top.
Matrix

But despite the ghetto-ness of the place I had the best Indian dinner I have yet had anywhere.

Classic Indian Restaurant, Bahta

The weather is finally cooling down here in Riyadh. Rather than 110F/43C, it’s a cool 100F/37C.

And in a couple of days I am heading to some place with some real balmy weather…

Amalfi Coast, Italy.

Positano, Amalfi Coast, Campania, Italy

Picture courtesy of Pinterest

This one is not a solo trip. At various intervals of the trip I shall be meeting up with folks from my present, from my past, and perhaps from my future as well. I am very much looking forward to this trip and shall keep you all posted.


13 Comments »

  1. So nice to hear your update Tahira. Just wondering. As nurses, we are typically planners, so I’m wondering with about 6 months in and 6 months left to go, I’m wondering if you have considered your future plans? Is Saudi your new home? Have you found another wild adventure to conquer? Are you missing your ABMC buddies enough to come back? Also, I wondered if you read the book “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed? For some reason, the girl in the book reminded me of you. Not because of her crazy habits (heroin, random dates, etc.), but for the fact that you are also a brave adventure, much like her. Have you read the book, and if so, what did you think? Hope to hear from you soon!
    Kathy

    • Didn’t I do a review for WILD in Goodreads? Hmm, maybe not – I’ve kind of gotten lazy in that regard. Anyways, LOVED the book! I have huge chunks of it highlighted.

      Actually Kathy, in about 3 months I have to start deciding if I will re-contract and stay another year here. Honestly I am not sure what I will do. But I do not foresee myself coming back to ABMC even though I certainly do miss my buddies! I will let you know as soon as I know! Xx

  2. Not homesick yet? I love reading your updates…living vicariously through you. I saw a family who spoke Arabic in the clinic yesterday. They were from Palestine. So interesting! Glad you are well. Like Kathy above, I’m wondering what your plans are too!

    • Thanks, Wendy! I’m homesick for some things… my bike, the lakefront, my family & friends.

      I’m not yet sure what path I shall take in the near future… I’ve go about 3 months before I have to start deciding whether to re-contract or not. I will definitely keep you updated! Xx

Leave a Reply

