Atop St. Peter’s Basilica in The Vatican and climbing La Cupola

St. Peter’s Basilica ~ The Vatican

Did you know one is able to climb up and visit The Dome of St. Peter’s Basilica?

And did you know the people standing in line for “La Cupola” means they are standing in line to go up to The Dome…

The Dome of St. Peter’s Basilica
La Cupola

Once my sister & I figured out La Cupola = The Dome, that is precisely where we headed.

    

On the way to La Cupola…

And when we had the choice to either climb 551 steps or take an elevator to the top of The Dome, what do you think we chose?

     

Precisely. Elevator poo-haa. We took the stairs. 

And here is some of what we saw while climbing those steps…

and this…

View while climbing the steps to La Cupola

and this too…

Then we arrive IN La Cupola.

Inside La Cupola, looking down onto St. Peter’s Basilica

And after 320 steps one comes out with this birds-eye view down into St. Peter’s Basilica (we’re inside the dome pictured in the above dome pictures – just looking down this time.)

And this is some of the stuff on the walls of La Cupola…

  

Then some more climbing to get to the roof.

To come out to this…

Atop The Vatican. Pretty impressive, hah.

And then I took the opportunity to make my sister sit on the ground and do a photo-shot of me.

(PS: She was such a great sport.)

 

Haha, that’s my sister in the above shot – She doesn’t like having her picture taken, so I had to sneak them in.

And then I got a close-up of the statues…

Are these statues kind of scary & intimidating? Or is it just me?

And then there were MORE stairs to climb. This time to get to the outside of the dome.

But once there, we certainly had some extraordinary birds-eye views of Vatican City & Rome…

and this…

and this as well…

To see more shots of my Vatican City birds-eye views click here:: SUNDAY POST: City

And to see all my post’s on Italy click here: Italy

THEN we had to get down from La Cupola. But that’s a post for another day…

16 Comments »

  1. Utterly amazing. I wondered how you managed those aerial shots. But I’m completely impressed with you climbing all them stairs. Looks like the view was worth it. I agree the statues are kind of creepy looking.

    • Haha! yeah, she definitely was a good sport! And thanks again for the kind words. I was poking around your place for some time – phenomenal site.Your home country is Scotland? Scotland is my ABSOLUTE favorite place in the whole world.

Leave a Reply

