Edinburgh, Scotland ~ My Favorite City

Edinburgh, Scotland

My favorite city…

View from Edinburgh Castle
View from Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh 230_1

Edinburgh 092_1

I love that the castle is perched up high watching over the entire city…

Edinburgh Castle
Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh 034_1

Edinburgh 035_1

Edinburgh 314_1

Edinburgh 018_1

Edinburgh 024_1

I love it in the day light, but even more so in the wee hours of the night…

Edinburgh 060_1

All the cool views from atop the castle make the city even more enchanting than it already is…

View from Edinburgh Castle
View from Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh 166_1

Edinburgh 155_1

Edinburgh 100_1

 I love that I can sit in the castle and have a scone  (with extra crème) with this view…

Edinburgh 259_1

And I love, most of all, that Edinburgh is the gateway to this…

Scottish HIghlands
The Scottish Highlands

and this…

Loch Awe, Cstle Kilchurn, Scottish Highlands
Loch Awe, Castle Kilchurn, Scottish Highlands

and to this…

Loch Fyne, Iveraray, Scottish Highlands
Loch Fyne, Inveraray, Scottish Highlands

 

Check back often for more on Edinburgh and The Scottish Highlands

24 Comments »

    • You are not the only one, Gunta. Even folks who know me well are surprised by this – Which surprises me, but that is for another topic (post?) But yes, there is something so utterly magical about this city. I’m glad you liked the photos of The Highlands!

    • Haha, Carolyn, it IS cold!! But I’m a winter-kinda-gal so I am loving it and savoring it (I go back to the desert very soon.) And sitting in that castle with my coffee & scone(s) is definitely one of my favorite things!

    • Haha, I love the cold weather, Dallas. I love all the seasons but especially winter – I am from Chicago after all 🙂 I head back to the desert very soon so I don’t have to deal with it ALL through the winter months. So at the moment I’m just savoring it and trying to soak in as much as possible before I head back.

  1. One day I will visit Scotland, but I understand the English and Australians best, you Americans, Irish and Scottish are hard to understand in spoken English… Even Canadians, but the canadian French is easier to understand… “Qu’est-ce que vous voulez comme breuvage ?” Beautiful photo!

    • Haha, I know what you mean especially about the Irish! I know it sounds crazy, English being my native language, but I too have a hard time understanding them! And yes some of the Scottish English – depending on how far north one gets. Scotland is so close to you, you would truly love the magnificent photo opportunities everywhere. And thank you for the compliment – I had a short stop in your city as well this time. I’m kind of partial to Edinburgh BUT Paris comes in to a VERY close second. It was a beautiful trip all around. And to drink? Well, nothing beats French wine, of course….

    • Welcome! Good to see you here. And I am indebted to Seumas. What an AMAZING place you come from. It’s my pleasure to take you on a little tour – I wish my pictures could do it justice. One definitely needs to “feel” the wonder of Edinburgh to fully understand why it’s so amazing. It truly is a magical city full of charm & I have to mention the folks there are just as charming and wonderful!

    • I must admit, I was a bit self-conscious so I can not tell you how happy I am to have not disappointed an Edinburghian! 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by & I am so excited to have found your blog featuring MY FAVORITE place in the world. You are very fortunate, indeed.

Leave a Reply

