2012 ~ Year In Review

2012

january

Central Park 2012
Central Park 2012

In January I visited New York and visited my twin sister that was separated from me at birth – Our Bosnian parents had sold her to some Albanian gypsies.

New York City Jan 2012 098_1

 

february

St. John, USVI
St. John, USVI

In February my big sister took me & my niece (her daughter) to St. John Virgin Island – By the end of the trip if we had run into any Albanian gypsies on St. Johns, I’m fairly certain, my sister would have sold me and her daughter to them.

(And if I posted my sisters picture on this blog that would be cause for certain disownment)

Trunk Bay, St. John USVI
Trunk Bay, St. John USVI

march

In March I was fretting about how the hell I was going to tell my mother I had accepted a job in Saudi Arabia and was going to relocate there.

I have no pictures of me fretting about.

april

Dhira Shopping, Riyadh
Dhirah Shopping, Riyadh

In April I relocated to Saudi Arabia and was going through some crazy-ass culture shock…

Dhirah Shopping, Riyadh
Dhirah Shopping, Riyadh

may

Street shopping in Riyadh
Street shopping in Riyadh

In May I was getting use to my new home and was finding my way around Riyadh…

Grenada Mall Riyadh
Grenada Mall, Riyadh

june

In June I found my hiking partner who not only embraced my “abnormalness” but encouraged it and at the same time indulged it…

Hash Run
Hash Run

And in June I visited Jeddah – Saudi Arabia’s coast

Jeddah 2012
Jeddah 2012

july

In July I went to Thailand

Thailand 2012
Thailand 2012

And spent my first month of Ramadan in The Kingdom

Iftar during Ramadan
Iftar during Ramadan

august

In August, the hottest month of the year, we were still hiking through the Arabian Desert

Red Sands Hash
Red Sands Hash with my dear friend Sarah

september

September was all about Italy

Rome 2012
Rome 2012
Positano
Positano
Amalfi Coast, Italy
Amalfi Coast, Italy

october

October was a quick visit to Bahrain

Bahrain 2012
Bahrain 2012

november

November was Paris… and some non-guilty self indulgence…

Streets of Paris

Louvre 2012

With my hat at the Louvre

december

December saw me in London with a visit out to the magical Stonehenge and the English countryside…

London Bridge
London Bridge
Stonehenge
Stonehenge
English Coutryside
English Countryside

England

 

And, of course, my dreamy trip to Edinburgh and to the Scottish Highlands was also part of December…

Edinburgh Pub
Edinburgh Pub
Edinburgh
Edinburgh
Edinburgh Castle
Edinburgh Castle
Scottish Highlands
Scottish Highlands
Loch Lomond. Scottish Highlands
Loch Lomond. Scottish Highlands

 

Christmas had me in Saudi Arabia. Working night-shift with my fellow partner in crime elf named Naeko

Christmas Elf's need coffee too...
Christmas Elves need coffee too…

I’m not yet sure where I will be ringing in the New Year.

But as I look back and reflect on 2012, I’m thinking…

2012 was a pretty damn good year,

2013 will be even better.

71 Comments »

  1. Primaaaa! You traveled the globe more in one year than most do in a lifetime. What wonderful, lifelong memories. Thanks for sharing your journey as you go. Hopefully 2013 brings you back here, at least briefly :)))). Miss you!

    • Thank you and thanks for taking a little peek into my world. One thing I never envisioned doing was living/working in Saudi Arabia, but here I am. Life is funny that way, hah. Happy New Year to you. All the best in 2013!

    • Thank you, Sylvia! It definitely has been an awesome year. I look forward to what 2013 has in store. Happy New Year to you and all the best in 2013!

      Ps: Haha, she’s not REALLY my twin sister, it’s our little joke… but since the moment we met 12 yrs ago on a hilltop in Kosovo we’ve had an unbreakable connection.

    • And it’s good to have you along, Clanmother! And thank you for the kind words, ‘joyous expectation’ definitely. Happy 2013 to you! I wish you all the best in the coming year! May it be full of courage & joyous expectation for all of us.

  2. What a whirlwind of a year for you. Great photo journey and Paris seems to suit you just fine. Look at those smiles. Am glad you and your sister are reunited. That would be a story right there. Happy travels and adventures to you in 2013.

    • Thank you, Lynne! And Paris does indeed suit me just perfect 🙂 Happy New Year to you & Ron as well. All the best for 2013!

      Ps: My bad, It’s an on-going little joke, we’re not REALLY twin sisters, or biological sisters for that matter… but since the moment we met 12 yrs ago on a hilltop in Kosovo we’ve had an unbreakable connection.

  3. Wow, Tahira, you did a lot in 2012! It looks like it was a year of great changes. I can’t believe you were hiking in the desert in August. You must get a lot of time off in your work! Italy looks fabulous…. Happy New Year in 2013. 🙂

    • Happy New Year to you too, Cathy! And yes, quite a bit of time off… compared to what we Americans back home normally get.But to all the other nationalities here, it’s standard & expected. Haha, yes hiking in August – there were moments where I definitely thought we were crazy with heat stroke. And Italy was amazing!

      All the best in 2013 to you, Cathy!

    • Thank you, Georgia! And, haha, I AM tired. I’m taking a break over the New Year and just chillin’ in the Arabian desert. Happy New Year to you and thanks for stopping by and taking a peek! Cheers to 2013!

    • Thanks, Moni. And it’s so easy to catch that wanderlust, isn’t it? I’m glad you enjoyed my review of 2012 and for taking a peek around. I look forward to 2013. So Happy New Year to you and all the best in 2013!

  4. Your year’s review makes me think of that phrase about only regretting the things that one failed to do…. or something like that. Looks to me like you’re grabbing the world by the ass and swinging with it. Utterly beautiful. I wish you more!

    • Gunta, my friend, I am INDEED ‘grabbing the world by the ass!’ I think I’ll make that my motto! Thank you for coming along with me on the journey. You’ve become invaluable to me. And I do know the quote you are talking about “I regret not the things I’ve done, but those I did not do” (I’m just not sure who the quote belongs to… but it doesn’t matter, does it.)

      Thank you. And A Happy New Year 2013 To You.

  5. I love all your photos and it’s great to see you… stylish lady! 🙂
    ¸.•*¨*•.♪♫♫♪Happy New Year to You & Yours!.♪♫•*¨*•.¸¸ ♥
    ˜”*°•.˜”*°•.˜”*°•.★★.•°*”˜.•°*”˜.•°*”˜” Have a restful weekend!
    Eliz

    • Dear Alex, it’s definitely my most interesting year! I don’t know if anything will top my first year being deployed with the army… but that is a whole other story, hah? Thank you for riding along with me on this adventure – I love having you with. Happy New Year to you and your wonderful little family. May 2013 be filled with love, happiness, & health for you & yours!

    • Don’t mind the “Albanian gypsies” – although it would indeed make a good story. My “sister” and I are not really twins… or sisters…. we met in Kosovo (where there are a lot of Albanians) 12 yrs ago and connected from the spot. Thanks for coming by. I look forward to 2013. Hope you’ll join me in the fun! Happy New Year!

  6. Oh my goodness, can we trade lives, for like a month or so? What an amazing (looking!) year you’ve had! I’m in awe of your travels and also the story about your twin. I hope this coming year is just as wonderful for you! I’m certainly looking forward to seeing the pictures.

    • Thanks, Dana. Haha, yes, for a month. Although I don’t know how your family would feel about that…and I don’t cook very well…

      My twin is not really my twin… or my sister… she’s a sister of my spirit though. We met 12 years ago in on a hilltop in Kosovo with the US Army. Hmm, so I guess there still is quite an interesting story there, hah?

      Thank you for coming along on this adventure of mine. Happy New Year to you & your family! Cheers to 2013!

    • Why thank you and welcome to my shenanigans! It’s good to have you a board! It definitely was quite the year for me – I’m hoping I can top it in 2013! At least it’ll be fun to try. Happy New Year to you. Cheers to 2013!

  7. Not a bad-looking year, huh? After I got over the initial shock statement. You are a tease, Tahira! Fortunately I read some of the comments on the way down. So how’s Saudi working out? Have they adjusted to you, yet, and how long do you plan to stay? Happy 2013- I’m sure it will be!

Leave a Reply

