SUNDAY POST : Sentimental Value

Jake’s theme for the Sunday Post this week is Sentimental Value

I know the food carts in Thailand will always have sentimental value to me. Makes me hungry thinking about them.

Thailand

 

And Italy…. ah, Italy… one sentimental memory after another….

Italy -  Praiano

Italy - Praiano

 

Paris. Beautiful, sentimental, Paris.

Paris

 

London will always hold sentimental value for me.

England - London

 

Edinburgh, Scotland. My happy place. Always.

Edinburgh, Scotland

 

The amazing Sri Lanka. My special place. Holding a special sentimental value in my heart.

Sri Lanka

 

And Istanbul. Always and forever holding unique and significant sentimental value.

Instanbul

 

Collecting memories…

Not things.

 

 

This post is in response to Jake’s Sunday Post: Sentimental Value. Click here to see all the other Sentimental Posts

30 Comments »

  1. Tahira, I think I’ve died and gone to heaven! These are blissful. I loved the fiorista, but then they just got better and better!
    Can I ask how you get your photos to appear so large? Even when I select the large image on WP it doesn’t seem to make the photo appear any larger, irrespective of what camera setting I had used. (sorry if this is a dumb question)

    • Thanks, Jo! It is a pretty cool collection, isn’t it? I truly am one lucky gal. And I too simply love the fiorista shot as well!

      As far as making the pictures larger: So NOT a dumb question. Do you know it took me this long (as long as I’ve been blogging) to figure it out! I’ve been doing some experimenting/revamping of the blog and I came across it almost by accident — After you add your media to your editor (your photo) you click-highlight the picture and then click of the ‘edit image’ option in the left hand corner. Then go to ‘advance setting’ and there you simply set your own size in the width & height boxes.
      Message me if you’re having trouble with it.

    • Thank you, Opalla. And thanks for coming by! I must admit, I am really proud of those shots and they truly do hold special sentimental value. And perhaps that is precisely why I am so proud of the pictures? 🙂

  2. Beautiful sentimental memories, Tahira. Doesn’t travel hold that sway over those of us who are filled with wanderlust? I love them all. 🙂 About Jo’s question: isn’t the size of your pictures somewhat determined by the theme you use? Or is it not related??

    • Thank you and it most certainly does, Cathy. And those of us with the wanderlust gene simply “get it”

      And as far as it being theme determined…. I have no idea! It very well could be – I was just fiddling around with my options and by accident learned how to change the size with mine…. What a blogger I am! 😉

      • Well, I’ll have to experiment with mine and see if it’s possible to make them bigger. I just choose the biggest size available on the theme; for each of my blogs the picture size varies depending on the theme (I have now 15 blogs!). Now I’ll have to play around with your discovery! 🙂

  3. “Collecting memories… not things.” I kept seeing/reading/hearing those same four words again and again after reading this post. Think the universe is trying to tell me something? 🙂
    I’m sorting through boxes of my childhood stuff, all of it with such sentimental value. It’s hard for me sometimes to choose what to keep and what to let go. This helps remind me that letting go of the thing, does not mean letting go of the memory. Thank you so much!
    And also, your pictures are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

