Photo of the Week: The Eiffel Tower ~ And a Random Musing

From now on, each Friday (or there about), I will share a photo with you from my little adventures.

 

Me & The Eiffel Tower

Eiffel Tower

~ There Are No Coincidences ~

 

I’ve been blaming my lack of consistent Wi-Fi access these last 4 weeks on not posting regularly. Well, I have a confession to make – That’s not really why I haven’t posted. I haven’t posted because I have writers block. I have over 20 drafts awaiting patiently in my blogs dashboard. Yeah, I don’t have a block on ideas – Just a block on putting those ideas down into words.

 I noticed one subject that has shown up repeatedly throughout my drafts is the idea of coincidences.

I don’t believe in coincidences.

But I do not believe in predestination either.

What I do believe in is that we really know oh so little…

I know we are presented with choices and I know only with time and perspective can we see how truly connected everything is. One small decision made years ago, with little thought behind it, can markedly impact one’s current trajectory. Do we really have control if our lives are not predestined? Is that control simply an illusion? But if there are no coincidences, why is it that each step of the way is so linked?

This is what I shall be pondering as I head back to my chosen life in The Kingdom.

19 Comments »

    • Thanks, John. I once read an analogy about caterpillars & butterflies that comes to mind now “one must contract before expanding” (just a great analogy about life in general.) And you’re correct, in no time – when the time is right.

  1. Each step along a particular path takes us farther down that path… thus the trajectory continues in that direction. The control we lack is not knowing where that particular step will lead us in the end. I see life as a matter of continuous choices…. much like the drop-down menus in computer software. You choose one and you don’t always know where it will take you. The only thing that’s certain is that there will be trade-offs no matter which you choose. Life is a combination of the good, the bad and the ugly no matter which path you take. More than anything it’s your attitude toward those choices and obstacles that influences how your life turns out.

    • What a great analogy with the drop-down menus, Gunta! That’s perfect. In fact, your comment in it’s entirety is fantastic in it’s simplicity. It actually gives me much food for thought that I may even use in one of my (many) drafts. I too believe it’s “more than anything” about ones attitude towards their choices. As I look back I can see my attitude not only getting me through various situations but opening doors as well. Thank you, my friend. I needed to read this precisely at this time.

  2. Very interesting musing, Tahira. It got me to musing about something that happened to change my trajectory in 2001. I’m not sure yet if it’s a good or a bad thing…. Only time will tell, I guess. Love your photo of the Eiffel Tower. ūüôā

    • Thanks, Cathy. Unless we have a crystal ball, with time only can we gain perspective, eh? As Gunta said above, whether it’s good or bad, it’s our attitude that influences a lot of it. And you always seem to have the “right” attitude, so I am sure whatever your choice was, it will turn out OK for you ūüôā

  3. I do like a random thought, Tahira, but your 20 “awaits” stopped me in my tracks! I never have more than one awaiting. Viveka’s is a good thought because your photos have a wonderful element to them. Predestination? No idea. Life just goes winking by sometimes with barely time to think. ūüôā

  4. Your post reminds me of Bruce’s song “Kingdom of Days”….I did not know you were here, I haven’t checked in a while. Sorry I missed ya. Perhaps next time….

  5. Wow, I adore that photo! And your musings are very thought provoking too, I don’t have the answers, but it’s fun to think about ūüôā

    Thanks for sharing! All the best.

    Rohan.

Leave a Reply

