Floating In Silence

 I have a confession…

I didn’t know a human could float like a corkscrew on the Dead Sea let alone why a human body was able to do this.

I’m not exaggerating. Like even if you didn’t want to float you have no choice, you simply float in the Dead Sea. It’s like throwing a corkscrew in a tub full of water. The corkscrew simply can not sink to the bottom of the tub.

The Dead Sea, Jordan
More on “the mud” in another post

 

The Dead Sea, Jordan. Reading a newspaper.

~~~

It’s because the salt content is four times that of most world’s oceans, so that makes the Dead Sea very heavy (dense) and due to this extremely high concentration of dissolved mineral salts in the water its density is way more than that of plain fresh water. So this phenom gives everyone natural buoyancy. What this means is our bodies are more buoyant in the Dead Sea and since the human body is less dense than the water, it gets pushed up on top of the sea which allows the body to naturally float.  And makes for one very interesting experience. Metaphorically, the Dead Sea is called the Dead Sea because water does not flow out of it. This unique sea is fed by the Jordan River but there is no outflow – as if the river dies in it. It is called dead because it is thought to be without life, there is however some algae that actually thrive in this water though, so it is not completely dead. So combine all of this; the effortless automatic floating, the heaviness of the water, and the lack of life in it. When one floats on their back, with their ears submerged, and looks straight up at the sky it is as if the entire world has shut-off. There is utter silence as if one is floating in timeless space.

Floating in silence - The Dead Sea, Jordan

~~~

In January of this year I made a solo trip Sri Lanka.  Floating in the Dead Sea at the end of June of this year was the first time I had true, unhindered, uninterrupted, blissful solitude since Sri Lanka back in January. And I realized the lack of finding solitude had taken a pretty big toll on me. Floating in the Dead Sea in complete silence prompted me to remember of just how much I cherish solitude. Of just how much I need solitude.

Ambivert:  n. A personality trait including the qualities of both introversion and extroversion. I use to lean toward extroversion. And while I love, and at times crave, social interaction, I find that life has definitely molded and manipulated me into a more introverted solitude seeking person. I loved my time in Istanbul in February where I met up with a dear friend, and Dubai in March was a good friends milestone birthday celebration weekend with a huge group of folks. In April I went home to Chicago for three weeks which was filled with amazing and insightful times with family and friends but was stressful all the same – A lot of running errands since it was the first time being home after living in The Kingdom for a year. Then a quick trip to Dubai again at the beginning of June where I had company and while it was a whirlwind out of this world weekend I had no opportunity for true solitude. Then Jordan at the end of June …. Where I was able to luxuriate in a few days of pure, unadulterated, cherished solitude.

The kind of blissful solitude where one can finally ease the chatter in the head. Where one can see with clarity. The solitude of where the answers lie. Where shifts in the universe occur with the ebb and flow of the tides.

The Dead Sea, Jordan

Sunset over The Dead Sea

~~~

7 Comments »

  1. I am sooooo with you on the need for solitude. I even have the first page I posted dealing with that topic. The biggest challenge for me when life had me taking care of a husband with a spinal injury (leaving him a quad) was the 24/7 togetherness. The physical care was a piece of cake compared to losing that time to myself.

    • Gunta, I 100% understand the physical aspect of “care” – Yes, absolutely a piece of cake. It’s the mental wear & tear of the 24/7 togetherness. And I can not even begin to understand your experience with husband & your “togetherness”. I do know just the thought gives me anxiety – the thought of not having a refuge for solitude. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. As I was reading this, about cherishing solitude, I thought “Oh! Tahira must actually be an introvert, just like me…!” And then in the next paragraph, you said you were. I am reading “Quiet” right now by Susan Cain. About the power of introverts in a world that won’t stop talking…;) I love her Ted Talk too!

    • On my list of “to do” things is to update my Ted Talks here and most definitely including Susan Cain’s talk. I need to read the book – I think it’s on my Goodreads list. And yes, as I get older I not only cherish but find that I NEED solitude. It’s almost like I start getting withdrawal symptoms when I don’t have enough of it. I wonder if you get the same response from people when you tell them you are an introvert – The response I get is usually one of surprise “but you are sooooo out going” is often what is said.They don’t get that sometimes, I just need to not hear the world talking… 😉

      • I guess it hasn’t really come up in conversation for me, but both Lance and I scored 15 out of 16 in the book’s questionnaire on whether we possess the common qualities of introvert personalities. I am a very good fake extrovert, ha!

Leave a Reply

