Photo of the Week: A French Vineyard At Sunset

From now on, each Friday (or there about), I will share a photo with you from my little adventures

 

I am currently in the French province of Provence ~ In other words wine country

Hope you enjoy this sunset over the vineyard as much as I did the other evening

Provence, France. La Croix Valmer

Other countries drink to get drunk, and this is accepted by everyone; in France, drunkenness is a consequence, never an intention. A drink is felt as the spinning out of a pleasure, not as the necessary cause of an effect which is sought: wine is not only a philtre, it is also the leisurely act of drinking. ~ Roland Barthes

11 Comments »

  1. I love this, I can feel the season, the fruit. Not just through the description of the word “wine” but, I don’t know, you’ve painted such a wonderful picture. And I really love “wine is not only a philtre, it is also the leisurely act of drinking.” That last part will be placed in my kitchen somewhere… (lol – thank you for the thought)… France was Kimball’s favorite country and Paris, her favorite city… and she was quite the traveler… You placed a smile on my face and for that I thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

