2013 ~ Year In Review

2013

 2013 afforded me a cornucopia of wondrous adventures around the globe.

So I invite you to take yet one more journey with me this year, this time as I reflect on the travel highlights of 2013 by recapturing them via my photography. There were many highlights, and I do want to stress traveling was not exclusive to those highlights, but capturing these moments of travel are the easiest to showcase.

What I have learned is…

Travel is personal.

Places I’ve journeyed to reflected back to me what I was feeling at that moment.

Growth comes from hard lessons.

And there are certain places in time you feel like you’ve been searching for your entire life but then, only realize once you’ve arrived, that what you’ve been searching for has been within you the entire time.

I warn you now; One can fit in A LOT in 12 months – This is a HUGE post  

So without further ado… 

 

january

Sri Lanka

Will always hold such a special place in my heart.

Merissa, Sri Lanka
Merissa, Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka,  Adam's Peak
Prayer flags at the top of Adams Peak, Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka, Polhena Beach
Sri Lanka

 

february

Istanbul

I haven’t posted a lot from Istanbul, not because there isn’t much to showcase, quite the contrary I think there is TOO MUCH to showcase. But what every single time without fail stands out to me, is the people of Turkey – Nowhere will one find folks more welcoming, funny, and generous.

Istanbul, Turkish Crepes
Turkish Crepes
 Turkish old men
A common sight in Istanbul. The modern alongside the not so modern.
Turkish women
Turkish women
Yellow umbrella in Istanbul
Yellow umbrella in Istanbul

 

march

Dubai

I was invited to a birthday party in Dubai so this was a short trip that was kind of done all at night…

Dubai at night
Dubai at night

With a lot of celebrating…

Talking to my invisible friend sitting in the chair
Talking to my invisible friend sitting in the chair

… and making faces

Dubai

…and with a lot of laughter

Dubai

 

april/may

Chicago

I went home for a visit.

John Hancock Building, Chicago
John Hancock Building – Chicago
Chicago's Elevated 'L'
Chicago’s Elevated ‘L’

Chicago

Chicago, Michigan Avenue
Chicago –  Michigan Avenue

 

june

Dubai

This time I was able to see the light of day.

Dubai by day light
Dubai by daylight
Dubai by day
Dubai in a constant state of building-up

 

july

Jordan

I’ve included more photos from Jordan in this post than from any other trip. I realize I haven’t even come close to posting what I experienced and saw in Jordan. And perhaps that is precisely why – it was simply so overwhelming. My hope is that you can get a sense of the sheer magnitude of this tiny country via these photos.

Mud of The Dead Sea, Jordan
Mud of The Dead Sea, Jordan
Getting the mud...
Obtaining the mud…
I love my mud
…so that I could play in the mud
Petra, Jordan
Petra, Jordan
The Treasury. Petra, Jordan
The Treasury – Petra, Jordan
Camels of Petra
Camels of Petra
The Monastery - Petra, Jordan
The Monastery – Petra, Jordan
My transportation in Petra. Jordanian donkeys.
My transportation in Petra. Jordanian donkeys.
Wadi Rum, Jordan
Wadi Rum, Jordan
Bedouin tea time in Wadi Rum
Bedouin tea time in Wadi Rum
Tea with out Bedouin host
Tea with our Bedouin host
Wadi Rum desert, Jordan
Glorious Wadi Rum, Jordan

 

august

Saudi Arabia

While Saudi Arabia has been my base these last twenty months, I know I haven’t nearly showcased it enough. Perhaps, at a later date, in a different forum.  But for now, I give you these shots of the Arabian desert.

Hiking in the Saudi Arabian desert
Hiking in the Saudi Arabian desert
Saudi Arabia
Saudi Arabian desert
Saudi Arabia
Sun setting on the Arabian desert

 

september

France

Really. What is there to say about Paris and about France that has not been said before?

The pictures speak for themselves…

Love locks Pont des Arts, Paris
Love locks Pont des Arts, Paris
Musician at the Musée du Louvre
Musician at the Musée du Louvre
Jardin du Luxembourg, Paris
Jardin du Luxembourg, Paris
The South of France, Plage de Gigaro
The South of France, Plage de Gigaro
View atop Cap Lardier, South of France
View atop Cap Lardier, South of France
Bicycling along the vineyards in La Croix-Valmer, France
Bicycling along the vineyards in La Croix-Valmer, France

 

october

Istanbul

A quick trip back to my beloved city.

Hookahs in Istanbul
Hookahs of Istanbul
Hagia Sofia, Istanbul
Hagia Sofia, Istanbul

 

november/december

Chicago

Home for my favorite Holiday, Thanksgiving.

Home for Thanksgiving 2014
Thanksgiving 2013
Christkindlmarket, Chicago
Christkindlmarket, Chicago
Chicago
Chicago
Chicago
Chicago

 

A warm, heartfelt Thank You to everyone who has come along and followed me on this ride.

I promise to even bring it up a slight notch in 2014.

 

And if you want to see what I did in 2012 you can click here: My 2012 ~ Year In Review

And PS: I warned you it was a HUGE post 😉

43 Comments »

  1. You had a great year, Tahira! It’s been fun to journey along with you. You brought a lot of memories to me from France, Jordan and Istanbul, three of my favorite places. And you look so happy in all your pictures. Love that one of you covered in mud! Happy 2014!!

  2. My favourite shot is the prayer flags, but The Treasury must be incredible to see in real life! Love the shot of you throwing back your head and laughing, in Dubai, but I’m not sure I’d like the place. Whatever, it looks like a terrific year, Tahira, and a few more lessons from life 🙂
    Very best wishes for health and happiness in 2014!

    • Jo, I’m not a huge fan of Dubai myself. It is Las Vegas on steroids x100 – But I am grateful for having had the opportunity to see this marvel of everything modern. I think you & I are the the ‘frolicking through French Vineyards’ type – so that is where we shall meet, and definitely not in Dubai!

      And yes, the Treasury was simply amazing. A true marvel of everything old & historic. And thank you, I truly believe laughter is the best medicine for just about anything. Happy New Year to you too!

  3. Wow, what an amazing year … and I thought I was bad for travelling *smile – stunning adventures … amazing memories and fantastic photos.
    Going to visit Istanbul for the first time in May, so excited over my trip already … Chicago is my favorite all time city in the world and in September I will be back. Dubai is on my bucket list …. I love France, but sort of hate Paris … *smile
    Wow, what an amazing and enjoyable review.

    • Thank you, Viveka! I have a feeling you will simply fall in love with Istanbul. I look forward to hearing about it! What I love about travel is that it truly is PERSONAL FOR EVERYONE – I love hearing how some love this & some love that, and how one city can effect so many people with so many perspective & opinions.
      Thank you for journeying along with me this year!

      • Tahira, I’m sure I will find and love my Istanbul. All so exciting to see and feel it myself, have heard so much about this city, and everybody I know just love it.
        Of course will I keep you posted. *smie

        Happy New Year to both of us! Bring 2014 on!

  4. It looks like you’ve had a wonderful year of travel….so many adventures. Petra is very high on my list of places to get to….looks like Jordan was great. Istanbul and Paris are two of my favorite cities….but I don’t like Dubai!
    I’ll look forward to seeing where you get to next year….so much fun, and you have a lovely smile.

    • Thank you, Seonaid. Like I told Jo above, I too am not one much for the modern marvels of Dubai. And yes, Paris & Istanbul, the dreamy places. But don’t cut yourself short – you are after all in one of my all time favorite places in the entire world 😉 (Lets talk about dreamy Scotland, hah!)
      Thank you for coming along & I truly LOVE following your blog! Happy 2014!

    • Thank you, my dear friend. Not only have I LOVED having you along but I’ve loved seeing you develop your amazing photography – It’s been a true joy to follow along.
      Happy New Year. I wish you all the best in 2014!

    • Thank you so much! Dubai is a place people seem to either love or hate – there is definitely NO in-between in Dubai 🙂 But if you do get the chance, I think it is a once in a lifetime experience. And Petra, aaahhh, simply magical.
      Thank you for coming by and steering me over to your place – I look forward to following your adventures. Happy 2014!

    • And here is a CHEERS to that, Lynne! And I am most definitely embracing it to the fullest – And it’s been a joy to have you along and more so to follow you & Ron. Thanks for being there Cheers once again & Happy 2014!

Leave a Reply

