Photo of the Week: Souq Waqif ~ Doha, Qatar

From now on, each Friday (or there about), I will share a photo with you from my little adventures.

I’m hoping with this beauty of a shot from Doha, Qatar (where I just returned from) I can make up for being remiss in posting my photo’s of the week this past month.

This shot is from the Souq Waqif, literally translated to “the standing market”. The Souq is phenomenal, famous for selling traditional garments, spices, handicrafts, and souvenirs. But the absolute BEST part? No soliciting from the vendors and shop owners. Having calm and peace gave me the time to truly experience and see what Doha had to offer. Instead of being literally worn-down by the nagging, yelling, and following of the vendors. If anyone has been through The Grand Bazaar in Istanbul you know what I am talking about.

I have to admit, I regret not visiting Doha sooner. It was truly a wondrous escape, while still being able to experience the culture and region. I have proclaimed it my favorite city in the Middle East.

This is just one common scene while walking through the Souq. Patrols on horseback (hence how they enforce the no soliciting way of shopping) and a Middle Eastern female checking her mobile phone.

Souq Waqif, Doha Qatar

5 Comments »

Leave a Reply

