Photo of the Week: What I Leave Behind

From now on, each Friday (or there about), I will share a photo with you from my little adventures.

 

January 2013 ~ Mirissa Beach, Sri Lanka 

Mirissa Beach, Sri Lanka

In less than six hours I will be heading to the airport in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia and departing The Kingdom for the last time.

 

Grateful for the experience but happy and eager to be leaving.

I leave a part of me behind. A part of me that I am okay with leaving. A part that needs to be left. Don’t worry, I promise she will be just fine here – this is where she needs to stay. She has been a loyal friend and a faithful companion, and she’s been through a lot with me, but her place is here. She has served her purpose.

I return to the United States the same person but slightly more confident, a bit more self-assured, and definitely much more well-traveled. I return with a deeply better understanding of myself and of what I want in life and not afraid to ask for it. A self-respect that seems to have taken me ages to uncover. And most importantly a tender understanding and fearless compassion for myself that I don’t believe I’ve ever had before. 

The part that I am leaving behind  is the part that helped me and enabled me to find all this. I am deeply grateful to her. But it is definitely time to leave her behind.

 

I head back to the Chicago area for a bit and then after that I’ve got a couple of *things* cooking so I will update when things are more definite.

For now, I thank each and every one of you that have traveled this remarkable unparalleled journey with me. I look forward to having all of you join me on the next juncture.

~ Tahira

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia. 19June2014

15 Comments »

  1. How time flies. It seems like just yesterday that I found you, newly arrived… what adventures you’ll have to remember. The growth is good and I certainly await further exploits. Happy trails to you, dear Tahira!

Leave a Reply

