All The Good In This World

I may not know much,

but what I do know,

is this…

There is just so much good in this world.

McWay Falls, Big Sur, CA

 McWay Falls, Big Sur ~ California

(There is a drought in California ~ All the waterfalls are small-ish)

Something funny happens when one is in pain, time not only slows but it expands. It creates a vortex of detail. Observable detail.

Standing above Vernal Falls, Yosemite

Standing above Vernal Falls in Yosemite ~ California

Vernal Falls, Yosemite

Just recently in this vortex of slowed and expanded time, I was jolted into remembering the incredible goodness in this world. I was reminded by two, yes two not one but two, people who stopped on a lonely California road to help with a flat tire on a bicycle. One person going so far as to offer to follow the bicyclist (yes, me being the bicyclist ) in their car to make sure the “fixed” tire was okay.

Vernal Falls, Yosemite

Vernal Falls, Yosemite ~ California

And while in this slowed and expanded time, I noticed that for every person attempting to extinguish another’s fire, undermine one’s happiness,  impede one’s progress, or grin when one is down – There are numerous, countless folks who are willing, of their own volition, to raise another higher, fan the flames of their fire, and always willing to lend a helping hand up from wherever another is down. Truly, countless.

Bridalveil Falls, Yosemite

Bridal Veil Falls, Yosemite ~ California

For every person being deceitful, telling lies, and living with dishonor & dishonesty, there are limitless, untold others who are genuine, honorable, honest people full of integrity offering you only their truth – Folks who are living their truth. Limitless.

Marble Falls, Sequoia National Forest

Marble Falls, Sequoia National Forest ~ California

For every person offering only their silence there are people, from all over the world, offering their words, their encouragement, their laughter, their love. From. All. Over. The. World. Not only amazing but humbling as well. Kind of crazy, truth be told.

Mist Falls, Kings Canyon National Park

Mist Falls, Kings Canyon National Park ~ California

For every person withholding their love there are unnumbered, multitudinous people who give their love generously and freely without judgment and without ulterior motive. Unnumbered.

Hiking in Kings Canyon National Park

Me. Searching for waterfalls in California. I’ve never had to go far to find one. Just like I’ve never had to go far to find goodness in this world.

Sometimes I can’t believe that I am loved by SO MANY good people in this world. I have been reminded of this exponentially these last few weeks. I am beyond grateful and at times overwhelmed. I’ve asked myself several times, “what do these people, folks who are so simply full of good, see in me and why do they want to be part of my life?”

And they have reminded me that like attracts like.

I will never stop searching for waterfalls…

And I will always live my truth.

This I promise you. And I thank you for being part of my life.

17 Comments »

  1. What do you mean “What do these people see in me, why do they want to be part of my life?”. It is that unconditional loyalty, support, and wisdom. And we can’t forget humor. You are one of the funniest people I know…..And thank YOU for being part of my life.

Leave a Reply

